Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information   Click to listen highlighted text! Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information

Longest serving parliamentarians – winners and losers

Ken Lukyamuzi

Ken Lukyamuzi

As Majority of the longest serving ministers and members of parliament lost in the just concluded parliamentary elections, those who survived speak out on how they made it. One of the ministers who has been in parliament for more than two terms Ruth Nankabirwa says although  the election process was too tough,  including her being  challenged  for over stay, she explains that her success was  a result of  using her office to fullfil the pledge made by Government. Nankabirwa also says that she explained to the constituents that the president they support had served longer than her.

Those long serving ministers and MPs who lost include  Lubaga South MP John Ken Lukyamuzi, Minister of defense  Crispus Kiyonga, Geoffrey Ekanya  Tororo  county, Rujumbura County MP also Information minister Jim Muhwezi,  Ruhinda County MP also Justice  and constitutional affairs  minister, Kahinda Otafire, Rubanda west MP also Minister of State for Investment Henry Banyenzaki, former  vice president Gilbert Bukenya and Veteran politician and First Deputy Prime Minister Henry Muganwa Kajura who has been in cabinet since 1989.

Some longest serving Ministers and MPs who survived and will be serving their fourth term are Minister of disaster preparedness and Refugees Hirary Onek, Ruth Nankabirwa, Vice president Edward Sekandi, Elijah Okupa, Cecilia Ogwal and Speaker Kadaga; these two have been in parliament since the Constituency assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Click to listen highlighted text!