AFCON 2017: Ghana Vs Uganda preview

Ghana’s Black Stars take on Uganda Cranes in the opening group D clash at Stade de Port-Gentil Tuesday 17th, January 2017.

The Black stars are one of the regulars in the continental competition whereas Uganda are making a return after 39 years.

The only previous Cup of Nations game between the two countries was the 1978 final which hosts Ghana won 2-0 in Accra.
The last meeting between the two sides ended in a 0-0 draw in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers, a game which was played at Tamale Stadium on the 7th October 2016.

Ghana has won the Cup of Nations in 1963, 1978, 1965 and 1982 while Uganda’s best achievement was runners up in 1978.

Uganda are the only East Africa nation in Gabon and have a battle on their hands if they are get out of their group with tough ties against Mali and one of the tournament favorites Egypt .

Uganda are under Serbian tactician Milutin “Micho” Sredojovic whereas Ghana are coached by Avram Grant.

Players to watch:


Goalkeeper Dennis Onyango who was named as the best African-based player of 2016 by the Confederation of African Football after helping South African club Mamelodi Sundowns to African Champions League glory will be vital for his country


West Ham’s Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew who has recently come back from injury will look to help his country against the Uganda Cranes.

What to expect

The Cranes will hope for a good start in their opening game to stand any chance of qualifying for the next round though Ghana are no push-overs.




Briamah Razak (Cordoba, Spain)

Richard Ofori (All Stars, Ghana)

Fatau Dauda (Ashanti Gold, Ghana)


Andy Yiadom (Barnsley, England)

Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA)

Baba Rahman (Schalke 04, Germany)

Daniel Amarte (Leicester, England)

Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey)

Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium)

Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA)


Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy)

Christian Atsu (Newcastle, England)

Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy)

Wakaso Mubarak (Panathanaikos, Greece)

Ebenezer Ofori (AIK, Sweden)

Samuel Tetteh (FC Liefering, Austria)


Asamoah Gyan (Al-Ahli, UAE)

Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa, England)

Andre Ayew (West Ham, England)

Bernard Tekpetey (Schalke 04, Germany)

Ebenezer Assifuah (Le Havre, France)



Salim Jamal Magoola (Al Merreikh, Sudan)

Robert Odongkara (Saint George, Ethiopia)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)


Timothy Dennis Awany (KCCA, Uganda)

Joseph Ochaya (KCCA)

Shafiq Batambuze (Tusker, Kenya)

Denis Iguma (Al Ahed, Lebanon)

Isaac Isinde (Unattached)

Murushid Juuko (Simba, Tanzania)

Nicholas Wadada (Vipers, Uganda)


Khalid Aucho (Baroka, South Africa)

Mike Azira (Colorado Rapids, USA)

Geoffrey Kizito (Than Quang Ninh, Vietnam)

William Luwagga Kizito (Rio Ave, Portugal)

Tony Mawejje (Thotur, Iceland)

Hassan Wasswa (Nijmeh, Lebabon)

Moses Oloya (Hanoi T and T, Vietnam)

Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya)


Geoffrey Massa (Baroka, South Africa)

Faruku Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium)

Yunus Sentamu (Ilves, Finland)

Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA, Uganda)

Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka, Uganda)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.