NRM Candidate wins Kaabong Woman MP seat

President Museveni campaigns for NRM’s Akello Rose Lilly for Kaabong district Woman MP at Kaabong Senior Secondary school playground in Dodoth East.

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) candidate, Akello Rose Lilly, was yesterday declared the winner of Kaabong Woman Member of Parliament seat.

Akello was declared the winner of the by-election by the Returning Officer for Kaabong District, Mrs.Sarah Iyolu after garnering 2, 814 votes out of 43965 total votes cast against her closest rival Tubo Christine Nakwang, an independent who got 2, 558 votes.

The Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) flag bearer Adyaka Judith Nalibe got 593 votes while 3857 votes were rejected.

The seat fell vacant in June after The Court of Appeal sitting in Kampala upheld the judgment by Soroti High court nullifying the victory of Christine Tubo as Kaabong woman Member of Parliament over non-compliance to electoral laws.

In its judgment, the panel of three justices of the Court of Appeal comprising of Justice Richard Butera, Justice Owiny Dolo and Justice Kenneth Kakuru maintained that Tubo was elected irregularly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.