Kenya’s EALA elections set for tomorrow

EALA elections set for tomorrow

President Uhuru Kenyatta addressing East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) members at the National Assembly

Kenya MPs will elect nine representatives to the regional East African legislative assembly on December 13th this year.

The ruling Jubilee Party will get five and the opposition National Super Alliance four slots for the regional Assembly.

Kenya had delayed to elect EALA representatives because of long electioneering period and this had delayed constituting this assembly.

In South Sudan, President Salva Kiir withdrew the names of the nine members after a citizen, Wani Santino Jada, had filed an application at the East African Court of Justice stating that the elections were not conducted according to the East African Community Treaty rules,but they settled the matter the representatives were elected .

RELATED: Kenya supreme court uphold president Uhuru Kenyatta’s re-election

Representatives of EALA from Uganda, south sudan Rwanda Burundi and Tanzania were elected and are waiting for other countries to send their members for this regional body to be properly constituted and sworn in to start work.

Nine Ugandan  representatives  who were elected by the 10th parliament to EALA, who are waiting sworn included ; Christopher Okumu Opoka ,Susan Nakawuki ,Mukasa Mbidde , Dennis Namara ,Mary Mugyenyi ,Steven Odong , Paul Musamali , Mathias Kasamba and Hon. Rose Akol .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.