Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information   Click to listen highlighted text! Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information

MPS attack office of court regisrar

Some Members of Parliament have expressed concern that the office of the court registrar is frustruating the move by the four MPs recently thrown out of Parliament to file an application seeking to remain in parliament as they continue their battle in the Supreme court.
Addressing journalists at parliament, MPs including Gerald Karuhanga, Mariam Nalubega, Semujju Nganda, Winnie Kiiza and Atim Anywar among others said the court registrar was being unco-operative.
Karuhanga says that the competence of the supreme court will be viewed through it’s willingness to co-operate as the four MPs seek to block parliament from implementation of the constitutional court order.

MPs Theodore Sekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Bernabus Tinkasimiire (Buyaga east), Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa West) and Muhammad Nsereko (Kampala central) were recently ordered to vacate their parliamentary seats by contitutional court justices’ decision on the basis that their expulsionfrom the NRM party in May last year implied that they automatically lost their seats, a decision the MPs still challenge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Click to listen highlighted text!