Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information   Click to listen highlighted text! Welcome to Uganda Multimedia News & Information

Uganda parliament creates five new counties

Uganda Parliament has created five new counties in five districts of Uganda bringing the total number of counties to 229.

The Uganda minister of state for local government Perez Ahabwe while presenting the proposal for the creation of new counties to Uganda Parliament on Wednesday says the new counties will help improve representation and ease administration of the areas.

Parliament of Uganda

Uganda Parliament

The new counties are Dodoth West County in Kaabong district, Bunyole West County in Butaleja district, Agule County in Pallisa district, Bukooli Islands County in Namayingo district and Ikiki-iki County in Budaka district.

The newly created counties mostly curved out from newly created districts will add five new Members of parliament in the already congested Uganda Parliament.

Experts believe that the new counties will increase administration costs and strain Uganda budget which is already strained with high administration costs.

Uganda already has over 90 districts which comes with huge administration costs because it automatically creates new offices like the Chief Administrative office, District chairperson and Woman MP among others.

Solomon Akugizibwe, Ultimate Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Click to listen highlighted text!