Uganda Cranes team and coach Micho nominated for Confideration of African Football awards

Uganda Cranes team, coach Mulitin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic and Dennis Onyango are shortlisted for the  team,  Coach and African player of the year (based in Africa)  respectively according to the list released by Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Micho battles it out with DR Congo coach Florent Ibenge, Mamelodi Sundowns Pitso Mosimane and Mo Bejaia coach Nacer Sandjak with the other being Florence Omagbemi, the coach of Nigeria’s women national team.

The Cranes team has been shortlisted alongside Nigeria U-23, Senegal and Guinea Bissau national teams, the Nigerian Women’s football team and DR Congo – the CHAN winners.

The winners will be decided by votes from the CAF Technical & Development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants) except Fair Play, Legend and Platinum awards, which are not subject to vote. For this year, there will be no votes for the Youth National Team of the Year.

Meanwhile, the Referee of the Year will be voted only by the CAF Referees Committee. The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

African Player of the Year

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
  • Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

African Player of the Year (Based in Africa),

  • Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)
  • Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  • Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)
  • Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
  • Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
  • Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
  • Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
  • Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)
  • Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent

  • Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
  • Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  • Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
  • Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City

Youth Player of the Year

  • Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  • Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
  • Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
  • Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
  • Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)

Coach of the Year

  • Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
  • Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)
  • Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)
  • Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

Referee of the Year

  • Papa Gasama, Gambia
  • Grishea Gehead, Egypt
  • Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year

  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  • MO Bejaia (Algeria)
  • TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • Zamalek (Egypt)
  • Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year

  • DR Congo
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Nigeria U-23
  • Senegal
  • Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.