Paul Nkata named coach of the year in Kenya Premier League

Former Uganda Cranes coach Paul ‘Latest’ Nkata was on Tuesday evenning crowned the best coach of the season, 2015/16 in Kenya Premier League.

The glamorous awards night was held at the Kenya Safari Hotel in Nairobi.

Nkata, who guided Tusker to the league crown easily out-muscled Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia) and Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar) to the top coaching gong of the season.

 Nkata follows in the footsteps of the previous winners of this award who include; Frank Nuttal (2015), Chemelili Sugar’s Mike Mururi (2014), Abdallah Juma (KCB) in 2013, the 2012 winner Zdravko Logarusic (Gor Mahia), Tusker’s Sammy Omollo in 2011, Benjamin Nyangweso in 2010 with Ulinzi Stars and Robert Matano with Sofapaka in 2009.

It is an honour to be recongnized. This award motivates me to aim higher, he said.

Western Stima’s Kenneth Muguna beat John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars) and David Okello of champions Tusker to the Most Valuable Player award.

Referee Ongwayo beat off competition from Andrew Juma, Davies Omweno, David Mulongo and Badir Yassin.

Full 2016 KPL Awards

Most Valuable Player

  • Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  • John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)
  • David Okelo (Tusker)

Golden Glove

  • Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)
  • Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)
  • David Okello (Tusker)


  • Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)
  • Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)
  • Noah Abich (Sofapaka)


  • Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  • Whyvonne Isuza (Mathare United)
  • Humphrey Mieno (Tusker)

Fairplay Player

  • Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz)
  • Jared Obwoge (Chemelil)
  • Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar)

New Player

  • Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia)
  • Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
  • Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

Coach of the year

  • Paul Nkata (Tusker)
  • Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia)
  • Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)

Golden Boot

  • John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)
  • Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)
  • Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)

Team manager of the year

  • George Opndo (Tusker)
  • David Mwangi (Ulinzi Stars)
  • Pascal Ochieng (Posta Rangers)

Fairplay Team

  • Kakamega Homeboyz
  • Mathare United
  • Western Stima

Assistant Referee of the year

  • Gilbert Cheruiyot
  • Stephen Oduor
  • Mary Ann Njoroge

Referee of the year

  • Anthony Ogwayo
  • Davies Omwen
  • Badr Yassin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.